Illinois State University
Illinois State University
Jump over the site's masthead's navigation bar.
Jump over the site's left-side navigation bar.

News - Department of History, Illinois State University News


Dr. Ross Kennedy gave an overview of the German and Allied bombing campaigns in Europe during World War II yesterday at the International Seminar Series: Bombing Europe‚Äôs Cities in World War II. He assessed some of the historical controversies surrounding the American and British bombing of Germany’s cities during the war for the audience. Kennedy is the author of The Will to Believe: Woodrow Wilson, World War I, and America’s Strategy for Peace and Security. He teaches courses at ISU on American history and on international politics from 1914 through the early Cold War.

This was part of the continuing International Studies Seminar Series sponsored by the Office of International Studies and Programs. See more at:;jsessionid=570D4DE13F3EDD7385CC60972DAC24F6#sthash.Uks9ufcp.dpuf



Faculty Activities/Accomplishments

- Ross Kennedy – last summer Ross was an invited speaker and seminar leader for “Woodrow Wilson and the First World War” at the Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations Summer Institute at Williams College. He was also interviewed by Radio Free Europe-Russia on World War I; by the Pantagraph and WJBC radio on World War I; and by WJBC on D-Day

- Kyle Ciani – on the WGS website, Kyle is praised by two of the three students featured as one of their favorite WGS professors;

- Katie Jasper – received a CAS Faculty International Travel Grant for a summer 2014 workshop that she attended as a contributor to the Cambridge History of Medieval Monasticism in the Latin West.


Email History

Department of History
Normal, Il 61790-4420
Phone: (309) 438-5641
Fax: (309) 438-5607